My very first blog post is a Sandwich-filler

We’re going to Sandwich this weekend.  Yes, I know it sounds a bit mundane.  Ultimately, we’ll be free-spirited travellers, tossing a coin to decide our next destination and pointing Gertie in the right dirction but John still has to wait a year or so before he can walk away from a working life that started with a bread round when he was 14.  Until then we spend as many weekends as we can in Gertie, limited only by how far we want to travel in so short an amount of time.  So, Sandwich.

Having lived in Kent for the best part of 45 years, I don’t know why I haven’t visited this south-east coastal town before. Apart from the now famous (or infamous?) local newspaper headline ‘Lost baby found in Sandwich’, I haven’t really thought about it much.  I know there’s a £7 toll to access the beach and that it was one of the Cinque Ports and that there’s a seal colony which can often be found sunning itself on the beach.  I also know that Storm Doris is rampaging as I write.  Hmmm.  High sided vehicle, 90 mph winds, what could possibly go wrong?

Leave a Reply

